Sunday, May 9, 2010

Quest for the "zone"

As bridge is a game where the learning never stops, it is important to understand the various stages of learning in our quest for self-improvement.
There are 4 stages through the learning process and understanding how we move though it and how our performance will very accordingly is important if we are not to be discouraged when we get a setback.

Another aspect is to look at all the factors that we need to get right. No wonder it is a tough game :
  • Comfort Zone
  • Emotional Control
  • Expectations , that can lead to fear of failure
  • Focus – both intensity, duration and style
  • Mental Preparation
  • Motivation
  • Perfectionism
  • Self-Confidence , lack or excess of it
  • Self-Esteem
  • Stress Reduction
  • Psychology of Recovery
  • Team Dynamics
  • Game Strategies
  • Goal Setting
  • Mental Imagery

    Now start making your own list.

1 comment:

  1. bridge is a game where the learning never stops

    And that's why it's such a wonderful yet frustrating game.